log in

Academy Success

Devaney wins Irish Senior Title

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

147 Academy player Jason Devaney from Crosmolina Snooker Club in County Mayo created more Irish snooker history when he won his biggest title to date when he won the 2011 Republic Of Ireland Senior National Snooker Championships. This historic win put his name on the most famous trophy in Irish snooker to follow in the footsteps of some great champions. Jason now follows champions like Martin McCrudden, Vincent Muldoon, David Morris, Rodney Goggins, Brendan O Donoghue, TJ Dowling, Colm Gilcreest , Jason Watson and Ken Doherty who have won the senior Irish title.

In the final Jason beat fellow Academy member and Irish Number 1 player David Hogan from Nenagh 8 frames to 6 in a superb quality final in the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club in Carlow. The win ends an incredible season for the 18 year old Ballina man who also won the Under 19 National Championship and the Under 21 National Championship in 2011. He is believed to be only the second player after David Morris to win all three national championships in the same season and also finished number 1 in all junior rankings. Jason will now receive a paid trip to compete in the World Amateur men’s championship in China in November where he will come up against the best players from all around the world.

The win also moves Jason into the top 7 of the senior rankings and that qualifies him to play in the Senior Home Internationals to become one of the youngest players ever to compete for Ireland.

In his victory speech he thanked his coach PJ Nolan who has giving him the belief, coaching and guidance over the past 5 years to help him win the titles and he thanked his parents and his Club Crosmolina for all their help support.

Video - Click to watch action from the final


David Hogan 5-1 Johnny Williams
Robert Murphy 1-5 Vincent Muldoon
Robert Redmond 5-3 Martin McCrudden
Jason Devaney 5-2 George Tierney

Semi Finals
David Hogan 6-2 Vincent Muldoon
Robert Redmond 5-6 Jason Devaney

The Final
David Hogan 6-8 Jason Devaney